Sunday, May 28, 2017

Product review: Beach Umbrella Sand Anchor, Metal Beach Umbrella Holder-Stands-Sand Grass Auger with Beach Bag-Heavy Duty Black







The anchor is made out of single piece of metal (steel). The opening is 1 3/8" and can be adjusted by tightening a plate. The anchor is 14" deep. Because it has a corkscrew design it needs to be twisted to insert in place rather than be pounded it as a spike design. I using this stake not in the sand but in rocky New Englad soil in my garden. Twisting into soil is a harder than into sand so keep that in mind as you watch the video.

I installed this anchor 13 days ago and waiting to write this review until we had a day with a strong and gusty wind to see how it holds up. It did quite well, it is holding the strong.

The weakest point of the umbrella is the mechanism that tightens to hold the pole. This mechanism only closes part way and it did not close enough to hold my pole tightly, I had to use a couple of dowel to fill in the gaps so the hold would be stronger. If I could change anything I would change the screen mechanism to close all the way through 1 3/8" so it can hold any pole no matter how thin or thick.


You can find it on Amazon by following this link.

Ali Julia review ★★★★☆





Friday, May 26, 2017

Product review: 925 sterling Silver White Opal Hoop Earring

video

The opal inlays are colorful and the hoop shape is very pretty.  The earrings are a nice size.  They are not oversize so they look classy. They are 3/4" in size. In attached photos I show them in 1/2" grid as well as in my hand and ear for size reference.

The workmanship is nice: neat and without imperfections.  The metal is 925 sterling silver (there is a 925 stamp on the inside).  My ears starts itching within an hour if nickel is part of the alloy and I have no problems wearing them all day long without getting itchy ears.  Overall,  they exceeded my expectations.


You can find it on Amazon by following this link.


Ali Julia review ★★★★★

Wednesday, May 24, 2017

Product review: ONEMIX Women's Air Cushion Running Shoes

video


I got the lady's version of these sneakers in blue and pink. The sneakers are very comfortable.  The sneakers are made in China for Chinese market so picking the right size could have been tricky, but the seller provides a helpful chart a the bottom of the listing (which I am also including below) which was accurate and worked out well for me. I normally wear US size shoe 7.5 and selected size 8 based on the chart.  The fit is good, I am able to wear them with both thick and thin socks.  The sneakers do not have a separate shoe tongue, instead it is a one piece shoe which makes it a little harder to put on.  Initially I needed to use a shoe horn but as I wear it it is getting easier and easier to slide my foot into the shoe.

The shoes provide good arch support and cushioning at the heel. The colors and the design are nice (dark blue and bright pink).  I liked that the package included an extra set of shoe laces (in blue color). In addition the package also include a pair of socks (grey with coordinated pink stripe). The package include another freebie - a small yellow mouse pad (8.25" x 7.5").

You can find it on Amazon by following this link.


Ali Julia review ★★★★★

Size Chart
MEN Size Chart
Size 3 D(M) US = Foot Length 220mm = Foot Length 8.66inch = 35EUR = Women 5(M)US
Size 4 D(M) US = Foot Length 225mm = Foot Length 8.85inch = 36EUR = Women 5.5(M)US
Size 5 D(M) US = Foot Length 235mm= Foot Length 9.25inch = 37EUR = Women 6.5(M)US
Size 5.5 D(M) US = Foot Length 240mm= Foot Length 9.45inch = 38EUR = Women 7(M)US
Size 6.5 D(M) US = Foot Length 245mm = Foot Length 9.64inch = 39EUR = Women 8(M)US
Size 7 D(M) US = Foot Length 250mm = Foot Length 9.84inch = 40EUR = Women 8.5(M)US
Size 8 D(M) US = Foot Length 260mm= Foot Length 10.23inch = 41EUR
Size 8.5 D(M) US = Foot Length 265mm= Foot Length 10.43inch = 42EUR
Size 9.5 D(M) US = Foot Length 270mm= Foot Length 10.62inch = 43EUR
Size 10 D(M) US = Foot Length 280mm= Foot Length 11.02inch = 44EUR
Size 11 D(M) US = Foot Length 285mm= Foot Length 11.22inch = 45EUR
Size 12 D(M) US = Foot Length 290mm= Foot Length 11.41inch = 46EUR

Monday, May 22, 2017

Product review: REIDEA Digital Kitchen Scale 11Ib/5kg, Tempered Glass - Black

video

This is a good looking kitchen scale - it has a polished black glass top and a large easy to read display.  The scale is accurate, its reading matched my calibrated postal scale.  It runs on four AAA batteries (which are included in the package).  It capacity is  11 pounds.

This kitchen scale is quite precise. Its graduation is 0.1 oz, 1 g, 0.1 fl.oz, 1 ml.

The scale has on/off button. It turns off automatically after 60 seconds of not being used.  Changing the units of measure is done by pressing "unit" to cycle between g, ml, and  oz.

The scale measurements are 6.5" wide x 9.5" long.  Because the scale platform is totally flat I was able to measure items much larger than the scale platform.  The read out has nice larger numbers and easy to read.

You can find it on Amazon by following this link.


Ali Julia review ★★★★★

Saturday, May 20, 2017

Product review: YouDuo 4 in 1 Wireless RF Item locator Key Finder

video


Why is it that when I misplaced my keys I am always in hurry and least effort a delay? Well, this is not a problem anymore. This key finder works very well saving me time and frustration.  The beep is reasonably loud, I can hear it if the keys are in my jacket pocket, for example.

The package includes four color coded receivers and a transmitter with buttons.  The package comes with CT2032 for the receivers, you need to provide two AAA batteries for the transmitter.
All buttons sound fairly similar. I show how they sound in my video.

What could be better? I would nice of the receivers were even smaller.  I show them in my video on 1/2" grid for size reference. 

You can find it on Amazon by following this link.


Ali Julia review ★★★★★

Thursday, May 18, 2017

Product review: Strong Cable Ties. 36" Nylon Zip Cable Ties. Large 175 LB Tensile Strength Heavy Duty

I have been using these cable ties for two winters to secure an electric cord to the railing of the deck.  They work very well.  They stay strong and tight all winter longer.  Rain and snow is not a problem.  They are easy to tighten and when the winter season is over I can easy cut them off with utility scissors.

You can find it on Amazon by following this link.


Ali Julia review ★★★★★







Tuesday, May 16, 2017

Product review: Tach-It 36" x 175 Lb Tensile Strength Natural Colored Cable Tie

I have been using these cable ties for two winters to secure an electric cord to the railing of the deck.  They work very well.  They stay strong and tight all winter longer.


These cable ties are LARGE! I was looking for something I can use to rig up an electric cord to our deck through the winter and stumbled upon these huge cable ties and they are perfect! They work just like their small cousins but easily go over very thick wood railings. They are strong and easy to work with and will be much easier to deal with in the winter than the nylon cords I was going to use before I found these ties.

You can find it on Amazon by following this link.


Ali Julia review ★★★★★

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Product review: HyLoft 00212 Add-On Storage Hook Accessory for HyLoft Model-540 Ceiling Rack, 4-Pack





I am using these hooks with HyLoft ceiling storage. The fit is perfect. I was wondering if they would make it harder to move boxes that are sitting on the grating but they do not. They are the same height as the rest of the grating.

In attached image the hooks are laying on 1 inch gridded mat so you can see all the size of every part of the hook better. I am also including images of the hooks mounted on the grating.

The part of the hook that attaces to the Hyloft system is 3.5" long (from outside to outside)
The wire thickness is 0.25", so the inside spacing of the hook is 3"
Each hook hang down 5.75"
The flat part of the hook (where you hang things) is 3.25"
The end that points up is 1.25"

The hooks feel sturdy, I am very pleased.

You can find it on Amazon by following this link.


Ali Julia review ★★★★★

Friday, May 12, 2017

Product review: Bissell 1984 AirRam Cordless Vacuum

video


I purchased Bissell AirRam 6 months ago.  It has powerful suction (on par with my corded vacuums),  lightweight, and flexible handle that allows me to easily vacuum under the beds and coaches.  However, this weekend the clips holding the handle broke off.  I had to tape it together with tape. 

To clean it the plastic canister pops out and you can empty it without getting the dust all over the place.  The filter comes out of the back end, the filter is made out of foam rubber which I can wash. The filter takes a few days to dry so you need to plan ahead. Not sure how to replace the foam filter, when I search for a replacement filter on Amazon I could not find it.

You can find it on Amazon by following this link.

Ali Julia review ★★★★☆




Wednesday, May 10, 2017

Product review: Neutrogena Pure and Free Baby Sunblock, SPF 45+, 2.5 Ounce


Neutrogena has a nice texture, spreads well, and does not leave my hands greasy. But it does have a light scent which dissipates fairly quickly. It does take about 30 seconds for the white film to be absorbed by the skin, which is typical for the higher SPF factor sunscreens in my experience.  It have not noticed any yellowing in the areas where the sunscreen touch my clothing (like the collar).

Overall, I like it and will be buying it again.

You can find it on Amazon by following this link.

Ali Julia review ★★★★☆




Tuesday, May 9, 2017

Product review: AZGIANT 7'' Inch Navigation and DVR for car /truck

video

The navigation device combines a car DVR and navigation system.  It has a 7" screen and comes with a windshield mount.  This device is an Android tablet which is running DVR and Navigation apps. It is running Android 4.4.2 (KitKat) version of the operating system. It comes with 16G ROM and accepts a micro SD card up to 32G.  I am using it with micro sd card. When I inserted a micro sd card the system prompted me if I wanted to switch to using the external sd as my storage.  That was nice, I did not have to hunt of where to change the settings.

The screen is not a high resolution screen compared to a typical Android tablet or phone but it is sufficient for navigation.

DVR
~~~~~~
1) DVR video quality: video  quality is acceptable for a dash cam during the day and the night. You can see the video it took during the day in the sun and at night. The colors are a little bit washed in the sun and at night the oncoming lights are overexposed in order to capture video in the dark. I would not be happy if my camera recorded it but it is good enough for a dash cam.  The camera records full HD 1080p video.
2) The mount included with the DVR works well,  it stays firmly mounted even on rough roads.
3) The dash cam uses standard mini USB cable and the cable is included in the package.
4) The user interface is straightforward especially if you are familiar with Android OS. It has a touch screen and the touch screen is responsive.

Navigation
~~~~~~~~~~~
1) A 7" screen is large and easy to see even for someone with imperfect vision.  However, the screen is hard to see in the sun.  This is typical for LCD screens, this one is not any worse than others but if you are drying in the sun it is hard to see. The screen looks good in the shade and is superb during the night. 
2) The maps are from 2014.  Updates are available from a Chinese web site which is problematic - the connection is unreliable. The maps do not have street view like Google navigation which allows you to see the actual street and buildings.
3) The strong point of this navigation system compared to Google maps is that it does not require cell coverage.  Our favorite navigation system current is Google Navigation but it requires cell coverage (you can download load maps but they expire and I have been caught without local maps that were current). The cell coverage requirement means that Navigation does not work in some rural areas where we like to travel on weekend.  There is no such restriction using Azgiant system.
4) The speaker is good. It has a good volume and a choice of voices. The voices sound natural and have a choice of American or British accents.
5) Destinations can be saved a "Favorites".  It is easy to do with just a few keystrokes.
6) The navigation screen does not rotate, you need to install horizontal orientation
7) There an option for traffic notification if you use WIFI.  However when we ran Google Navigation and Azgiant at the same time Google was generating traffic warnings and Azgiant did not.  The overall result was that Azgiant route took longer than Google route.  In general, Google Navigation calculations of our arrival time were more accurate over a number of different trips we did with both GPS doing the routing.
8) If you notice that the suggested route is a straight line rather than clinging to the road you are following you put the system is in "off road" mode.  This happened to me accidentally and it took a while to figure out why it no longer follows the road.  The touch screen is sensitive and accidentally brushed that setting while looking at the settings.
9) The default speed warnings are pretty annoying as they sound even if you drive at speed limit. However you can change them under "Settings" menu. You can select the warning to sound (or appear) between 101% and 130% of the speed limit to make them less annoying.

Overall, it is a decent option for when you need to operate without cell coverage. However, if you have a cell phone and cell coverage Google Navigation is superior.

You can find it on Amazon by following this link.

Ali Julia review ★★★☆☆

Monday, May 8, 2017

Product review: Honeymomo Diaper Refill Bags

video


This listing contains plastic bags with a ring closure. They were similar to the original orange Munchkin bags. The Munchkin pail is not part of this listing.  The closes easily, it holds the smells well. To see how tightly it closes I conducted a water test. I emptied a container of water, closed the ring, and turns it upside down.  There were a were drops of water as I turned it (from the sides), but once I turned it upside down it did not leak.  So though it is not waterproof (nor does it claim to be) the closure is pretty tight, good for holding in the bad odor.

You can find it on Amazon by following this link.

Ali Julia review ★★★★★

Saturday, May 6, 2017

Product review: Matcha Green Tea Facial Mud Mask with Headband

video


This is rich and smooth facial mask. It has a strong but pleasant floral scent. It is green in color.  The product is made in China. The ingredients are not listed in either the Amazon description or on the bottle, but they are listed on the box.

INGREDIENTS: Deicnized water, volcanic mineral slurries, Iglycerol chitosan glycolate, magnesium palmitoyl glutamate, Jdlcohol dimyristyl phosphate, PPG-10 cetyl ether Phosphate system,     acrylic     copolymer,     triethanolamine,     within DMDMhydantoin / iodopropynyl butlcarbamate acetate / methyl-isothiazolin -ketone, green tea extract, fragrance.

Before I apply the mask I put a hot towel on my face for a few minutes, then spread the mask with my fingers. I usually leave on for about 10-15 minutes. I remove it with a hot paper towel.  I have a pretty sensitive skin but had I had no bad reaction to the mud the next day - no break outs or redness.

My skin looks better because when I remove the mud it clears the pores. All the marketing terminology about "anti-aging" and "rejuvenation" is marketing gobbledygook, but I thought the mask cleaned well and smelled good. From using this mask a few times, I estimate that one tub will last at least 20.

You can find it on Amazon by following this link.

Ali Julia review ★★★★★

Thursday, May 4, 2017

Product review: Velice 4 Pairs Soft Comfortable Novelty Cartoon Crew Pattern Cotton Socks





Amazon has several versions of these "cartoon" socks and I picked the "cat" socks. They are really cute. The socks are made out of cotton. My shoe size is 7.5 and these socks are a perfect fit, the heel is in the right place.

In my photos I show the socks inside out so you can see the construction. Looking at any garment inside out really tells you about the quality of the constructions. These socks look very neat, they low flat seams and no bulges at the toes. I have worn them for a few weeks, so they have been through a couple of laundry cycles and they still look good.

I have a pet peeve when vendors stable the socks through the center with a staple gun, often this weakens the threads and can creates holes. These socks were not staples, but they were sewing through the sock with some thread. It is better than stapling, but I still would have preferred to see just the clips (which were also used in addition to the thread).

I like these socks, they are cute and they are true to size.

You can find it on Amazon by following this link.

Ali Julia review ★★★★★

Tuesday, May 2, 2017

Product review: OxiClean White Revive Stain Remover


I purchased this powder a year ago, in March 2016. If I were to write this review right away it would have been more positive, Turns out this powder absorbs moisture from the air in the basement and becomes a rock. Now every time I have to use it I have to chip powder away from the rock sitting in the container. The basement does not smell musty and we do not have moisture problems.

I have used other white revive products and decided to try OxiClean based on stellar reviews. I think OxiClean works reasonably well, but I did not notice a big difference compared to other product (Dropps, for example). OxiClean comes in a big plastic tub with a scoop, Drops comes in small pacs. I have to say that I prefer pacs to scooping the powder.

Here are the reasons reasons:
(1) powder absorbs moisture and becomes a solid block I need to break up when I need to us it
(2) When the powder is in pacs I don't have to smell the bleach. OxiClean, especially since I have to break up a solid block, gives off a lot smell
(3) Pacs give me the same amount every time. Scooping is inconsistent even when it is in powder form, more inconsistent when I need to break off what I want to use

Given that I don't see the difference in result for the type of dirt I wash the pacs offer a more convenient packaging and once this tub is over I am going back to Dropps pacs.

You can find it on Amazon by following this link.


Ali Julia review ★★☆☆☆





Sunday, April 30, 2017

Product review: Venta Airwasher 2-in-1 Humidifier & Air Purifier - LW45

video


Our heating is forced hot air and the air gets very dry. I used a variety of humidifiers through the years and it was always a compromise between the noise and improved air quality. On the low setting Venta air washer is so quiet that I had to keep checking if was on or not when the first time I was using it. On medium and high level I can hear some white noise but it is still very quiet. I am a light sleeper and this humidifier on the low settings is really the only that does not bother me when I am trying to fall asleep.




On the negative side to keep Venta air cleaner going you need to treat the water it uses continuously. This is done with Venta treatment additive. Two small starter bottles are included and Venta LW45 requires the use of both bottles at the same time. These two bottles are sufficient for 10-14 days of use. The additive is available in a larger 35 fl. oz bottle which is sold for $19.00 (sufficient for 5 months use). In addition every 6 months the airwasher needs to be cleaned with Venta cleaner which is $13.5 for one treatment. The cleaner starter is not included. I did some research and found that many people use water and vinegar to clean it instead of hte Venta cleaner. The top housing can be washed in the dishwasher with cup of vinegar. The disks can be cleaned with the pipe cleaner brush. I have been using the Airwasher for several weeks and have not needed to clean it, but I will try the vinegar solution first.

Assembling the Venta washer was very simple, the only thing one needs to do is remove two pieces of cardboard used for safe shipping.

I am using the airwasher on a trolley which makes it easy to move the washer even when it is full with water. The trolley moves smoothly. The troller comes with adapters for different size airwashes. My video shows the adapters installed for LW45 Venta. The adapters are installed properly when you you hear a click as they lock into place.

As the airwasher is working I see no white dust or water droplets on the floor. The airwasher capacity is 3 gallons and when it is out of water it automatically shuts off and displays a red light on the top of the unit.

The size of the unit is 17"L x 12"W x 13"H (or 15"H when on a roller).

You can find it on Amazon by following this link.


Ali Julia review ★★★★★


Friday, April 28, 2017

Product review: Trail Camera, Coolife 12MP 1080P HD Digital Camera

video


Video quality: In many situations the videos are very good and sharp.  In bright sun the camera overexposes slightly. The video during the night uses infrared videos (black and white), it is more grainy and less sharp however often captures very interesting videos. I am including video clips taken during the day and during the night.

The camera has good motion sensor and is activated only when something interesting is happening, so every video it captures has something good on it. The default setting was not as sensitive as I wanted (it missed some videos captured by another motion camera that was used to compare the effectiveness of this camera), but the settings can be changed. The camera can be mounted in a number different (strap to attach to a tree or a tripod mount).  I am using a tripod.

The user interface is menu driven and is very intuitive, I show it in the attached video to give you a better idea of how it feels to use it.

The camera runs on eight AA batteries (not included). The battery life is pretty good.  After running for a week taking hundreds of videos every day the camera's battery indicator shows that it is half full. The camera include a 32G micro SD card, the card was in a little plastic bag with cables.  The camera produces AVI and JPG output.

This camera case is robust.  The tripod with the camera has been knocked down by animals several times, and the camera still running, no problems. The case is waterproof and has been out in several rain storms without any problems. The case is 5.25" tall x 3.25" wide x 1.75" thick.

Overall, or its price range it is quite good. I love being able to have a glimpse into the life of our wild life visitors.

You can find it on Amazon by following this link.

Ali Julia review ★★★★☆

Wednesday, April 26, 2017

Product review: Besiter 20000mAh Quick Charge 3.0 Portable Charger with Type-C & Micro Dual Input



♦ size: 6.5" x 3" x 0.75"
♦ weight: 15.95 oz
♦ number of ports: 2
♦ flashlight: no
♦ pass through charging: no (i.e. the battery can charge while being charged itself)
♦ cable: not included

This external battery as not as large as one might expect for its large capacity of 20000 mAh.  The battery itself can be charged using either micro USB or type-C USB cable. Both recharge the battery from almost empty to full overnight.  I like the digital display of the battery level, it is easier to read than the 4 LEDs that show your the level on many other batteries.

This charger performed very well with both my Android phone. I also tested to see if the battery supports pass-through charging (i.e. whether the battery can charge mobile devices while it is being charged). This battery does NOT support charger through charging. It can not charge while being charged.

I have been using this battery for several weeks without problems as I write this review. It does the job and does not get warm as it is charging. Om terms of capacity it lasts somewhat less than my favorite 20K battery.

You can find it on Amazon by following this link.


Ali Julia review ★★★★☆

Tuesday, April 25, 2017

Product review: FEELWORLD Full HD 1920x1200 7 inch IPS Camera Top Monitor 4K DSLR Monitor

video

FEELWORLD monitor an external monitor for a digital camera that has a mini HDMI output.  This monitor comes with a HDMI to mini HDMI cable, a mounting bracket to attach to the camera, and a shade that can be mounted on the monitor.  The battery plate is mounted on the back of the monitor, but F970 battery itself is not included.

The monitor size is 7" x 5" and it is 1.25"thick at the widest point which include the battery mount, battery adds another 0.25" which means it is 1.5" thick with the battery mounted. The shade comes in two parts: the bracket that mounts on to the monitor and a sun shade which is Velcros to the bracket and provides a shade that is 4.25" wide at the top.

The screen looks very good. LCD screen is hard to see in the sun, but the shade really helps. The monitor supports full HD 1920*1200 Resolution. It also support the 4K UHD 3840*2160P.  In addition to HDMI input, the monitor also accepts AV inputs.  USB port is used for system updates.

In attached video you can see the monitor attached to my camera while I am video recording on my phone. The video camera on the phone is not great, so use other photos to judge the quality of the monitor.  The video taken by the phone camera demonstrate how the set up works but since my camera is in the video I could not use it to take the better quality videos.

Overall, this is a pretty nice monitor and makes it much easier to see if the photos are sharp or if they need to be re-shot.

You can find it on Amazon by following this link.


Ali Julia review ★★★★★


Monday, April 24, 2017

Product review: PChouse 2PC Stainless-Steel Kitchen Sink Strainer

video



This strainer fits the kitchen sink as expected: nice overlap on the side, nothing flows below the edge. It is a fairly deep strainer without a center a post.  I got this strainer to use with disposable strainer bags - they require a kitchen sink strainer without a post.  This strainer works well, the disposable bags fits and nothing escapes under the edge.  The strainer has a handle which makes it easy to lift it so I can clear it.

You can find it on Amazon by following this link.


Ali Julia review ★★★★★

Saturday, April 22, 2017

Product review: High Mountain Oolong Green Tea, Loose Leaf for Infusers, Tea Tin, Zone - 365

video

This is nice tasting green tea in a super nice tin.  The flavor is fragrant and smooth.  The tin has a double closure - a tight inner closure, and a nice looking top cap.  I am sure I will continue to use the tin long after the tea is gone.

Outstanding tea and container.

You can find it on Amazon by following this link.


Ali Julia review ★★★★★

Friday, April 21, 2017

Product review: Trail Camera Vizzlema 12MP 1080P HD Infrared Game Camera

video

We are big animals lovers and I own several wild cams so we can observe the wildlife visitors we are lucky to get every day. The camera lens is not wide angle, so it give me good close up shots as you see in the video.

The camera has good motion sensor and is activated only when something interesting is happening, so every video it captures has something good on it. The camera can be mounted in a number different (strap to attach to a tree or a tripod mount).  I am using the tripod.

Video quality: videos are very sharp.  In many situations the videos are excellent.  Sometimes in very bright sunlight the camera overexposes. The video during the night uses infrared videos (black and white). I included clips taken during the day and during the night.

The user interface is menu driven and is very intuitive, I show it in the attached video to give you a better idea of how it feels to use it.

The camera runs on eight AA batteries (not included). The battery life is pretty good.  After running for a week taking hundreds of videos every day the camera's battery indicator shows that it is half full. The camera include a 8G SD card, the card was in the camera when it arrived. The camera produces AVI and JPG output.

This camera case is robust.  The tripod with the camera has been knocked down by animals several times, and the camera still running, no problems. The case is waterproof and has been out in several rain storms without any problems.

Overall, I am very pleased. I love being able to have a glimpse into the life of our wild life visitors.

You can find it on Amazon by following this link.

Ali Julia review ★★★★★

Thursday, April 20, 2017

Product review: Bedecor 2-Pack Waterproof Pillow Covers Zippered Pillow Protectors Cotton

video



This is very nice pillow protector.  In my video I pour several tablespoons of water and you can see how the water pools and does not go through the material.

The pillow cover finish feels like terry cloth material on top, and has water proof liner on the reverse side. Waterproof liner does not crinkle and feels soft.

The pillow cover is 27" x 21", standard pillow size is 26" x 20" so it is a little large. It has a zipper closure. 

Cleaning recommendation is to wash it in cold or warm water and either air dry it or  dry it on low heat to prolong the life of the liner.  I have washed and dried the cover and repeated my "tablespoon of water" test and the cover remained waterproof.

This is a nice pillow cover.  I like it! If you have a drooler in your family a waterproof pillow cover is a must. It will be the pillow clean and fluffy for a long time.

You can find it on Amazon by following this link.


Ali Julia review ★★★★★


Tuesday, April 18, 2017

Product review: Vayne Hot Pursuit Electronic Interactive Cat Toy

video


This toy is a 8.5" disk with six openings from which a plastic tail shows up every now and then.  On one of the settings the disk also squeaks.  The disk runs on three AA batteries.

We have two cats, one of them is a mouser that like to plays with toys.  She became quite interested in the disk. Most of the time she just sits and watches it. I saw her swipe at it just once, but it keeps her transfixed staring at it for hours.  I imagined that she would be batting at it more, however it does keep her attention so she appears to be detained.

You can find it on Amazon by following this link.


Ali Julia review ★★★★☆


Monday, April 17, 2017

Product review: Zone-365 Executive Gold Pen with Cross Pen Ink Cartridge

video



The black and gold foil pen is very attractive.  It writes smoothly without skips, is comfortable to hold, and looks very distinctive. The pen writes in black ink.

✔ It is beautiful - one of my co-workers even commented on the nice looking pen. How often does that happen?
✔ I found the pen comfortable to write with.
✔ It has a clip, which allows me to clip the pen to my notebook while carrying it around.
✔ The pen comes in attractive case. The case is attractive enough for the pen to be a gift.
✔ The pen has a nice retracting mechanism. The pen does not have a cap.
✔ This pen uses the standard Cross D1 refill cartridge.  The package includes two refills: one in the pen, and one spare refill.

You can find it on Amazon by following this link.


Ali Julia review ★★★★★

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Product review: HOMEE Expandable Garden Hose

video


I have been using flexible hoses for several summers. They are great to work with - they are light and when empty become very short.  However they are fragile.

The main thing you need to know is that you cannot treat them the same as a regular garden hose. This hose require more careful handling: you cannot leave it in the sun when not in use, you can not drag and pull it like you would a regular hose, you cannot step on it when it is full with water, you cannot hang it to store (this puts pressure on the internal hose).  I store it curled up in a bucket and bring it into the cool basement when not in use.  I lay it out in the direction I want to water and only then fill it with water.  I am careful not to step on it and when I have to pull it I pull gently and carefully. I have strong water pressure, so when I use the flex hose I do not put the water pressure all the way up.  I use it at a half force setting.  Before I started using the precautions my flex hoses did not last all summer, now I get more than one season.

This hose has brass connectors which give me a good no leak connection. Also included in the package is a sprayer.  The sprayer has all plastic construction. We have hard water which is rough on plastic. I usually get 2 good seasons out of plastic sprays. The sprayer is a 7-setting sprayer (Amazon description says 8 settings).  All settings but the "mist" setting work fine. Mist is not as fine as I expected.  The nozzle has flow control and a loop that keeps the nozzle spraying without having to hold down the handle. Flow control does not make a big difference, but I use the stopper loop all the time.

Yes, this hose requires extra care but I really like that it is so light which makes it easier on my bad back.

You can find it on Amazon by following this link.


Ali Julia review ★★★★★