Sunday, February 19, 2017

Book review: Backyard Bird Guide: Attracting Wild Birds to Your Yard

This book is aimed at novice bird watchers that live in Northeast. The book does not have as many photos as I was hoping for but the ones that were included are very nice.  It also did not cover all the birds we see in our back yard (we do live in Massachusetts). I found information about how to attract some species of birds we do not see most interesting. None of the information is unique, you can find everything by searching the web.  I was glad that I got the book during a free promo period.

We have a large number of bird feeders and I agree with the author that the commercial bird seed is not the bird's favorite food. If we fill one bird feeder with commercial bird seed and another with sunflowers, the bird feeder with commercial birdseed will hardly be touched where as sunflower seed will be gone very quickly.  I also can confirm that cracked corn attracts a lot of larger birds including wild turkeys and blue jays.

We have not seen Orioles and Waxwings in our backyard, and I will try adding their favorite foods to see if they appear.


You can find it on Amazon by following this link.

Ali Julia review ★★★☆☆




Saturday, February 18, 2017

Product review: Round Rich Hand painted High Gloss Lacquer Jewelry Box

video

This is a super nice jewelry box. First of all it looks beautiful and elegant. Inside it has 4 compartment. There is built-in holder for rings or earrings, a pillow for watches, and velvet bag for anything. I needed a box for keeping my earrings so I can see them at a glace. I was keeping them in their individual boxes and the boxes were taking up a lot of room. Even though this box is not specifically designed for displaying a lot of earrings, I was able to adapt it for this purpose with foam strips. To keep earrings in place i piece the foam with the posts. I am attaching a photo with my adaptation I am very pleased. They are easy to see, securely in place, and take up a lot less room than individual boxes.

I really like this box, it is beautiful, well made and made me more organized.

You can find it on Amazon by following this link.


Ali Julia review ★★★★★

Friday, February 17, 2017

Product review: KQRNS Clip on Bed Reading Light

video
This a nice clip lamp.  Its clip open 2" wide and holds secure.  It is also can be used a stand for the lamp.  The neck of clip lamp is flexible and it can be bent as needed and it holds its shape well.

The lamp has a built in battery and is rechargeable. It uses a round connector rather than a micro usb, so you need to hang on to the cord, if you misplace it you will not be able to recharge the lamp.

If you touch the base quickly you can turn on an off the lamp with one touch. If you touch and hold the light dims or brightens slowly.  The spot light the lamp generates is not larger, but enough to light a book. Overall, pretty nice book light.

You can find it on Amazon by following this link.


Ali Julia review ★★★★★





Thursday, February 16, 2017

Product review: Copper Dual USB Car Charger 3.6A/18W by GONGNIU




This a compact charger which feels heavy and well mae.  It is metal and weighs 2.1 oz. This charger makes good tight contact with the car port and stays well seated even on bumpy roads.  I like that it has a clear LED indicator that is is plugged in (a blue ring around the edge).  It has two ports with a maxiumum output of 2.4A (if both ports are used total max is 3.6A).  Of coruse, what each device draws depends on that specific device, not all phones are cable of drawing 2.4A.  For example, my  Nexus 5 draws a maximum of 1A, however Nexus 6 was able to draw the max.

You can find it on Amazon by following this link.


Ali Julia review ★★★★★

Wednesday, February 15, 2017

Product review: La Crosse Technology BC-700 Alpha Power Battery Charger





I purchased this La Cross battery charger in January 2014. It has been in daily use since the day I bought it. It is holding up well and continues to work well after this constant long term use. I like that it can charge an odd number of batteries, charging different types of batteries at the same time (e.g. AA and AAA).

The display for each battery shows the mAh of each battery so you can see when the battery is aging. It has a "refresh" feature that will bring dead rechargeable batteries back to life. Batteries without this feature just no longer charge them. This feature alone made the charger pay for itself as I was able to bring rejuvenate batteries back to life rather replace them. Refresh is a fairy long process (as needs to fully discharge the batteries and then re-charge them multiple times).

Summary: reliable over many years, clear display for each battery, very useful refresh function.

You can find it on Amazon by following this link.


Ali Julia review ★★★★★

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Product review: Pawtec Retractable Micro USB 2.0 A Male to Micro B Cable Extends to 3 Feet

video



This charging cable works well charging my Android phone at an optimal rate (based on current monitor measurements).  The retractable mechanism works well - I have been using the two cables I have since 2015 and both still retract and expand reliably.  Both cables are in daily use for this entire period.

The retractability of the cord is handy especially for my MP3 player with external speaker which I have permanently plugged into a power bank. This cord helped me got rid of the dangling wire. When the cord is extended to its back it is 36" long. To retract it from that position you need to yank on both end to trigger the retracting mechanism.

Current monitor results:
black cord: 1.02A / 5.05V (excellent)
white cord: 1.02A / 5.09V (excellent)
(for comparison this is on par with the best charging monitor result for this phone 1.00A/5V)


You can find it on Amazon by following this link.


Ali Julia review ★★★★★



Monday, February 13, 2017

Product review: Swiffer Sweeper Wet Mopping Pad Refills for Floor Mop

Wet Swiffer pads are a quick and easy way to clean.  I used it on my tile floors using the same mop as I use for the dry Swiffer pads.  I usually run the dry swiffer first to remove any particles and dust and then use the wet pads for to clean up any stains or sticky patches.

Some days when I am doing the kitchen, the bathrooms, and the front roomsand they are not dirty enough to change the pad I rewet the pad with a squirt of Murphy's oil soap.


video

They are  much easier to use than a wet mop  and there is no clean up when the floors are done. The pad gets tossed in the trash.  The pads have a light lemony smell that makes the rooms smell fresh and clean, and when I toss it in the trash then the trash smells pleasant too.

You can find it on Amazon by following this link.


Ali Julia review ★★★★★