Sunday, May 28, 2017

Product review: Beach Umbrella Sand Anchor, Metal Beach Umbrella Holder-Stands-Sand Grass Auger with Beach Bag-Heavy Duty Black







The anchor is made out of single piece of metal (steel). The opening is 1 3/8" and can be adjusted by tightening a plate. The anchor is 14" deep. Because it has a corkscrew design it needs to be twisted to insert in place rather than be pounded it as a spike design. I using this stake not in the sand but in rocky New Englad soil in my garden. Twisting into soil is a harder than into sand so keep that in mind as you watch the video.

I installed this anchor 13 days ago and waiting to write this review until we had a day with a strong and gusty wind to see how it holds up. It did quite well, it is holding the strong.

The weakest point of the umbrella is the mechanism that tightens to hold the pole. This mechanism only closes part way and it did not close enough to hold my pole tightly, I had to use a couple of dowel to fill in the gaps so the hold would be stronger. If I could change anything I would change the screen mechanism to close all the way through 1 3/8" so it can hold any pole no matter how thin or thick.


You can find it on Amazon by following this link.

Ali Julia review ★★★★☆





Friday, May 26, 2017

Product review: 925 sterling Silver White Opal Hoop Earring

video

The opal inlays are colorful and the hoop shape is very pretty.  The earrings are a nice size.  They are not oversize so they look classy. They are 3/4" in size. In attached photos I show them in 1/2" grid as well as in my hand and ear for size reference.

The workmanship is nice: neat and without imperfections.  The metal is 925 sterling silver (there is a 925 stamp on the inside).  My ears starts itching within an hour if nickel is part of the alloy and I have no problems wearing them all day long without getting itchy ears.  Overall,  they exceeded my expectations.


You can find it on Amazon by following this link.


Ali Julia review ★★★★★

Wednesday, May 24, 2017

Product review: ONEMIX Women's Air Cushion Running Shoes

video


I got the lady's version of these sneakers in blue and pink. The sneakers are very comfortable.  The sneakers are made in China for Chinese market so picking the right size could have been tricky, but the seller provides a helpful chart a the bottom of the listing (which I am also including below) which was accurate and worked out well for me. I normally wear US size shoe 7.5 and selected size 8 based on the chart.  The fit is good, I am able to wear them with both thick and thin socks.  The sneakers do not have a separate shoe tongue, instead it is a one piece shoe which makes it a little harder to put on.  Initially I needed to use a shoe horn but as I wear it it is getting easier and easier to slide my foot into the shoe.

The shoes provide good arch support and cushioning at the heel. The colors and the design are nice (dark blue and bright pink).  I liked that the package included an extra set of shoe laces (in blue color). In addition the package also include a pair of socks (grey with coordinated pink stripe). The package include another freebie - a small yellow mouse pad (8.25" x 7.5").

You can find it on Amazon by following this link.


Ali Julia review ★★★★★

Size Chart
MEN Size Chart
Size 3 D(M) US = Foot Length 220mm = Foot Length 8.66inch = 35EUR = Women 5(M)US
Size 4 D(M) US = Foot Length 225mm = Foot Length 8.85inch = 36EUR = Women 5.5(M)US
Size 5 D(M) US = Foot Length 235mm= Foot Length 9.25inch = 37EUR = Women 6.5(M)US
Size 5.5 D(M) US = Foot Length 240mm= Foot Length 9.45inch = 38EUR = Women 7(M)US
Size 6.5 D(M) US = Foot Length 245mm = Foot Length 9.64inch = 39EUR = Women 8(M)US
Size 7 D(M) US = Foot Length 250mm = Foot Length 9.84inch = 40EUR = Women 8.5(M)US
Size 8 D(M) US = Foot Length 260mm= Foot Length 10.23inch = 41EUR
Size 8.5 D(M) US = Foot Length 265mm= Foot Length 10.43inch = 42EUR
Size 9.5 D(M) US = Foot Length 270mm= Foot Length 10.62inch = 43EUR
Size 10 D(M) US = Foot Length 280mm= Foot Length 11.02inch = 44EUR
Size 11 D(M) US = Foot Length 285mm= Foot Length 11.22inch = 45EUR
Size 12 D(M) US = Foot Length 290mm= Foot Length 11.41inch = 46EUR

Monday, May 22, 2017

Product review: REIDEA Digital Kitchen Scale 11Ib/5kg, Tempered Glass - Black

video

This is a good looking kitchen scale - it has a polished black glass top and a large easy to read display.  The scale is accurate, its reading matched my calibrated postal scale.  It runs on four AAA batteries (which are included in the package).  It capacity is  11 pounds.

This kitchen scale is quite precise. Its graduation is 0.1 oz, 1 g, 0.1 fl.oz, 1 ml.

The scale has on/off button. It turns off automatically after 60 seconds of not being used.  Changing the units of measure is done by pressing "unit" to cycle between g, ml, and  oz.

The scale measurements are 6.5" wide x 9.5" long.  Because the scale platform is totally flat I was able to measure items much larger than the scale platform.  The read out has nice larger numbers and easy to read.

You can find it on Amazon by following this link.


Ali Julia review ★★★★★

Saturday, May 20, 2017

Product review: YouDuo 4 in 1 Wireless RF Item locator Key Finder

video


Why is it that when I misplaced my keys I am always in hurry and least effort a delay? Well, this is not a problem anymore. This key finder works very well saving me time and frustration.  The beep is reasonably loud, I can hear it if the keys are in my jacket pocket, for example.

The package includes four color coded receivers and a transmitter with buttons.  The package comes with CT2032 for the receivers, you need to provide two AAA batteries for the transmitter.
All buttons sound fairly similar. I show how they sound in my video.

What could be better? I would nice of the receivers were even smaller.  I show them in my video on 1/2" grid for size reference. 

You can find it on Amazon by following this link.


Ali Julia review ★★★★★

Thursday, May 18, 2017

Product review: Strong Cable Ties. 36" Nylon Zip Cable Ties. Large 175 LB Tensile Strength Heavy Duty

I have been using these cable ties for two winters to secure an electric cord to the railing of the deck.  They work very well.  They stay strong and tight all winter longer.  Rain and snow is not a problem.  They are easy to tighten and when the winter season is over I can easy cut them off with utility scissors.

You can find it on Amazon by following this link.


Ali Julia review ★★★★★







Tuesday, May 16, 2017

Product review: Tach-It 36" x 175 Lb Tensile Strength Natural Colored Cable Tie

I have been using these cable ties for two winters to secure an electric cord to the railing of the deck.  They work very well.  They stay strong and tight all winter longer.


These cable ties are LARGE! I was looking for something I can use to rig up an electric cord to our deck through the winter and stumbled upon these huge cable ties and they are perfect! They work just like their small cousins but easily go over very thick wood railings. They are strong and easy to work with and will be much easier to deal with in the winter than the nylon cords I was going to use before I found these ties.

You can find it on Amazon by following this link.


Ali Julia review ★★★★★