Don't miss Prime Day: July 10 (9pm) though July 11

Tuesday, September 19, 2017

Product review: Scrub Daddy Sponge

video

Each sponge is 3.75" across and 1.5" thick.  Their texture is firmer compared to common Scott Sponges used for dish washing. Scrub Daddy sponges are best for cleaning cups and pots, not dishes.  The holes are useful for inserting my fingers so I can hold the sponge, but the mouth opening that is designed for washing spoons I am not finding all that useful.

The sponges did not have a smell right out of the package and so far are holding up okay. I have been using two of the four sponges for the last month.

Scrub Daddy on Amazon

Ali Julia review ★★★★☆


Sunday, September 17, 2017

Product review: ONEMIX Women's Air Cushion Running Shoes Lightweight Walking Jogging Gym Outdoor Exercise Drive Athletic Sneakers

video


I got these sneakers in June 2016, and they have become my favorite sneakers.
They  are incredible comfortable and I like the colors that match many of my outfits. I normally wear size 7 to 7.5 shoe and ordered size 7 sneakers (as it was the maximum size available at the time). They turned out to be a good fit, there is still about 1/2" left at the toe. They seem to fit somewhat looser than a typical size 7 shoe both in length and width (more like a 7.5 size). They provide good arch support and cushioning at the heel. The colors and the design are very attractive. The package included two sets of color coordinated shoe laces (the shoe laces are in solid purple and solid teal color).


You can find it on Amazon by following this link.


Ali Julia review ★★★★★




Saturday, September 16, 2017

Product review: OfficeGoods Electric and Battery Operated Stapler

video

This is a very easy to use stapler. It easily staple 20 lbs regular office paper, 25 sheets no problem.  I also used it in craft projects stapling heavy duty fabric together, also works very well.  I am using it plugged into the outlet (power cord is 6 feet long), but it can run on batteries as well.

The stapler comes loaded with staples.  To open the staple draw you need to push a button on the back of the stapler and the draw opens towards the front.  It works with regular standard staples, it accepts one full strip of staples at a time.

When I use my old manual stapler I often have to redo bent ot jammed staples.  This has not happened with OfficeGoods stapler so far!

You can find it on Amazon by following this link.


Ali Julia review ★★★★★

Thursday, September 14, 2017

Product review: Olight HS2 400 Lumens Cree XP-G2 LED Rechargeable Headlamp

video

The most unique thing about this headlight is how light it is, it weighs only 4.2 oz.  This lightness is due to the headlamp constructions.  Despite the smallness and brightness of the light it provides good amount of light for almost any activity.

The headband adjust well, and I find it comfortable.

In attached video you can the amount of light it generates.   The battery pack is in the back and is rechargeable.  The headlight comes in a nice hard shell carrying case.

You can find it on Amazon by following this link.


Ali Julia review ★★★★★

Wednesday, September 13, 2017

Product review: Rusee Acrylic Birdhouses with suction cups

video



We have a large number of bird feeders including four different window bird feeders. This bird feeder has one key feature that our feathered friends like. The birds love the little perch. In my video you can see how they use it to crack the seeds. We have another window bird feeder of a different style which does not have a perch and it was less popular until we glued a perch made out of a twig. As soon as we added this twig the bird feeder became more popular.

This is a wide bird feeder (11.75") but pretty short (5" tall). It is 4" front to back. I was not sure if our larger birds (blue jays and morning dives) will find it a bit short, but turns it is not a problem as you can see in the video. Several birds can visit it at the same time. Many birds do not mind sharing. Some do, and it is fun to watch the bully birds that make other birds leave (you can see a cardinal at the beginning of the video shoo away a small bird).

These bird feeders are not squirrel proofed, but as most bird watchers know there is no bird feeder that can stop a determine squirrel. For example, they learned to shake the bird feeder which closes under the weight of a creature that is heavier than a bird. So we no longer fight with squirrels, we just add more seeds to feed all creatures big and small.

The bird feeder is held by three suction cups. They provide sufficient suction power to hold the feeder, the seeds, the birds, and the squirrels. This bird feeder has a removable tray which makes it easier to clean.

Does the rain get into it? Yes. But the birds do not seem to mind. They are used to wet seeds on the trees.

What fun to see the birds so up close! If this is your first bird feeder it will likely that the birds will take a week to find it. For the first window bird feeder nothing happened for entire week, and then after a week my husband spread some seeds under the bird feeder and that seemed to help the birds find it. Now that we have a couple of window bird feeders it did not take them long to find the new one. The bird's favorite seeds are sunflower seeds. We spoiled the local bird population with sunflower seeds and if we put out the mixed seeds it barely gets touched where as the sunflower seeds disappear very quickly.


You can find it on Amazon by following this link.


Ali Julia review ★★★★★




Tuesday, September 12, 2017

Product review: Product review: Jackery Bolt 6000 mAh External Battery with Built-in Lightning & Micro USB Cables






I like carrying an external battery in my purse so I am never caught with the discharged phone.  The batteries with built-in cables are my preferences so I don't have to carry another cable around.  This battery has one micro USB and lightening connector.  I would have preferred two micro-USB cables, but I can see how a manufacture might want to satisfy both Android and Apple market with the same product.

The battery  is 4.3" 1.9" x 0.9" with a maximum output of 2.4A. The battery weighs 6 oz. It recharge three devices at the same time - 1 Apple device, 1 micro-USB and one USB outlet to use with your own cable to charge whatever else you might need to charge.

What is nice is that this battery allows charge through charging, i.e. it can charge devices while it is being charged itself.  I often piggy bag my phone and battery in the car, so both are fully charged when we arrive to our distination.

The battery has a tiny flashlight. It is not very bright but useful in an emergency where there is no other light source.

You can find it on Amazon by following this link.


Ali Julia review ★★★★★

Sunday, September 10, 2017

Product review: Olight X7R Marauder 12000 Lumens CREE XHP 70 LED USB Rechargeable Flashlight

video



This is massive flashlight. It weights 1 poind and 7.3 oz. In one of the attached photos I show it on the 1/2" grid for size reference.  It similar in size to a can of soda. 

The light is extremely bright. It shipped locked (which means it does not turn on bright light until you unlock it).  To unlock it you need to hold down the on/off button for 3 minutes.

It has multiple modes, and on the brightest mode its light carries for over 1200 feet.  To change from mode to mode hold down the button and release when you are in the mode you want to use.

The package includes a holster and lanyard.

It runs on 3800 mAh battery and is rechargeable.  It is waterproof.

You can find it on Amazon by following this link.


Ali Julia review ★★★★★